SMB IT Journal https://smbitjournal.com The Information Technology Resource for Small Business Tue, 18 Jul 2017 04:20:57 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.9.8 85249837 The Risks of Licensing https://smbitjournal.com/2017/07/the-risks-of-licensing/ https://smbitjournal.com/2017/07/the-risks-of-licensing/#comments Tue, 18 Jul 2017 04:20:57 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=1239 Continue reading The Risks of Licensing ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2017/07/the-risks-of-licensing/feed/ 1 1239 If It Ain’t Broke, Don’t Fix It https://smbitjournal.com/2017/07/if-it-aint-broke-dont-fix-it/ https://smbitjournal.com/2017/07/if-it-aint-broke-dont-fix-it/#comments Tue, 11 Jul 2017 03:41:05 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=1238 Continue reading If It Ain’t Broke, Don’t Fix It ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2017/07/if-it-aint-broke-dont-fix-it/feed/ 1 1238 The Social Contract of Sales https://smbitjournal.com/2017/07/the-social-contract-of-sales/ https://smbitjournal.com/2017/07/the-social-contract-of-sales/#comments Mon, 03 Jul 2017 13:43:39 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=1224 Continue reading The Social Contract of Sales ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2017/07/the-social-contract-of-sales/feed/ 1 1224 Virtualize Domain Controllers https://smbitjournal.com/2017/06/virtualize-domain-controllers/ https://smbitjournal.com/2017/06/virtualize-domain-controllers/#comments Mon, 26 Jun 2017 15:42:24 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=1221 Continue reading Virtualize Domain Controllers ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2017/06/virtualize-domain-controllers/feed/ 1 1221 When a Backup Is Not A Backup https://smbitjournal.com/2017/06/when-a-backup-is-not-a-backup/ https://smbitjournal.com/2017/06/when-a-backup-is-not-a-backup/#comments Mon, 19 Jun 2017 14:11:22 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=244 Continue reading When a Backup Is Not A Backup ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2017/06/when-a-backup-is-not-a-backup/feed/ 1 244 Hiring IT: Speed Matters https://smbitjournal.com/2017/06/hiring-it-speed-matters/ https://smbitjournal.com/2017/06/hiring-it-speed-matters/#comments Mon, 12 Jun 2017 13:51:19 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=1213 Continue reading Hiring IT: Speed Matters ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2017/06/hiring-it-speed-matters/feed/ 3 1213 When to Consider High Availability? https://smbitjournal.com/2017/06/when-to-consider-high-availability/ https://smbitjournal.com/2017/06/when-to-consider-high-availability/#comments Sun, 04 Jun 2017 13:40:31 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=440 Continue reading When to Consider High Availability? ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2017/06/when-to-consider-high-availability/feed/ 1 440 IT’s Most Needed Skills https://smbitjournal.com/2017/04/its-most-needed-skills/ https://smbitjournal.com/2017/04/its-most-needed-skills/#comments Mon, 24 Apr 2017 13:40:28 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=193 Continue reading IT’s Most Needed Skills ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2017/04/its-most-needed-skills/feed/ 3 193 Using Certifications to Drive Education https://smbitjournal.com/2017/04/using-certifications-to-drive-education/ https://smbitjournal.com/2017/04/using-certifications-to-drive-education/#comments Fri, 21 Apr 2017 12:18:48 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=772 Continue reading Using Certifications to Drive Education ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2017/04/using-certifications-to-drive-education/feed/ 1 772 Rethinking Long Term Support Releases https://smbitjournal.com/2017/04/rethinking-long-term-support-releases/ https://smbitjournal.com/2017/04/rethinking-long-term-support-releases/#comments Thu, 20 Apr 2017 20:06:04 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=1134 Continue reading Rethinking Long Term Support Releases ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2017/04/rethinking-long-term-support-releases/feed/ 1 1134 Linux Distro Release Schedules https://smbitjournal.com/2017/03/linux-distro-release-schedules/ https://smbitjournal.com/2017/03/linux-distro-release-schedules/#comments Sat, 25 Mar 2017 03:10:52 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=1120 Continue reading Linux Distro Release Schedules ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2017/03/linux-distro-release-schedules/feed/ 1 1120 The High Cost of On Premises Infrastructure https://smbitjournal.com/2017/03/the-high-cost-of-on-premises-infrastructure/ https://smbitjournal.com/2017/03/the-high-cost-of-on-premises-infrastructure/#comments Fri, 17 Mar 2017 02:39:46 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=1117 Continue reading The High Cost of On Premises Infrastructure ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2017/03/the-high-cost-of-on-premises-infrastructure/feed/ 2 1117 All IT is External https://smbitjournal.com/2017/03/all-it-is-external/ https://smbitjournal.com/2017/03/all-it-is-external/#respond Tue, 07 Mar 2017 16:29:54 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=1110 Continue reading All IT is External ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2017/03/all-it-is-external/feed/ 0 1110 Titanic Project Management & Comparison with Software Projects https://smbitjournal.com/2017/02/titanic-project-management-comparison-with-software-projects/ https://smbitjournal.com/2017/02/titanic-project-management-comparison-with-software-projects/#comments Mon, 20 Feb 2017 20:20:20 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=1051 Continue reading Titanic Project Management & Comparison with Software Projects ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2017/02/titanic-project-management-comparison-with-software-projects/feed/ 1 1051 Standard Areas of Discipline Within IT https://smbitjournal.com/2017/01/standard-areas-discipline-within/ https://smbitjournal.com/2017/01/standard-areas-discipline-within/#comments Wed, 01 Feb 2017 01:23:24 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=1037 Continue reading Standard Areas of Discipline Within IT ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2017/01/standard-areas-discipline-within/feed/ 2 1037 The Software RAID Inflection Point https://smbitjournal.com/2016/12/the-software-raid-inflection-point/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/12/the-software-raid-inflection-point/#comments Sat, 31 Dec 2016 22:43:37 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=1009 Continue reading The Software RAID Inflection Point ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/12/the-software-raid-inflection-point/feed/ 2 1009 Legitimate University Programs Are Not Certification Training https://smbitjournal.com/2016/12/legitimate-university-programs-are-not-certification-training/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/12/legitimate-university-programs-are-not-certification-training/#comments Thu, 15 Dec 2016 18:18:45 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=1005 Continue reading Legitimate University Programs Are Not Certification Training ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/12/legitimate-university-programs-are-not-certification-training/feed/ 2 1005 Understanding Technical Debt https://smbitjournal.com/2016/11/understanding-technical-debt/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/11/understanding-technical-debt/#respond Wed, 16 Nov 2016 18:33:57 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=997 Continue reading Understanding Technical Debt ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/11/understanding-technical-debt/feed/ 0 997 New Hyperconvergence, Old Storage https://smbitjournal.com/2016/11/new-hyperconvergence-old-storage/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/11/new-hyperconvergence-old-storage/#respond Wed, 16 Nov 2016 18:04:50 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=995 Continue reading New Hyperconvergence, Old Storage ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/11/new-hyperconvergence-old-storage/feed/ 0 995 You Can’t Virtualize That! https://smbitjournal.com/2016/10/you-cant-virtualize-that/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/10/you-cant-virtualize-that/#respond Wed, 19 Oct 2016 18:12:36 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=969 Continue reading You Can’t Virtualize That! ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/10/you-cant-virtualize-that/feed/ 0 969 The Commoditization of Architecture https://smbitjournal.com/2016/10/the-commoditization-of-architecture/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/10/the-commoditization-of-architecture/#respond Wed, 19 Oct 2016 17:24:03 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=984 Continue reading The Commoditization of Architecture ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/10/the-commoditization-of-architecture/feed/ 0 984 No One Ever Got Fired For Buying… https://smbitjournal.com/2016/10/no-one-ever-got-fired-for-buying/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/10/no-one-ever-got-fired-for-buying/#respond Mon, 17 Oct 2016 23:27:09 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=974 Continue reading No One Ever Got Fired For Buying… ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/10/no-one-ever-got-fired-for-buying/feed/ 0 974 SMBs Must Stop Looking to BackBlaze for Guidance https://smbitjournal.com/2016/10/smbs-must-stop-looking-to-backblaze-for-guidance/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/10/smbs-must-stop-looking-to-backblaze-for-guidance/#respond Sun, 09 Oct 2016 19:48:28 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=977 Continue reading SMBs Must Stop Looking to BackBlaze for Guidance ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/10/smbs-must-stop-looking-to-backblaze-for-guidance/feed/ 0 977 Choosing a University for IT Education https://smbitjournal.com/2016/10/choosing-a-university-for-it-education/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/10/choosing-a-university-for-it-education/#respond Fri, 07 Oct 2016 00:08:24 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=965 Continue reading Choosing a University for IT Education ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/10/choosing-a-university-for-it-education/feed/ 0 965 The Scale HC3 Advantage https://smbitjournal.com/2016/09/the-scale-hc3-advantage/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/09/the-scale-hc3-advantage/#respond Sun, 04 Sep 2016 17:52:40 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=932 Continue reading The Scale HC3 Advantage ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/09/the-scale-hc3-advantage/feed/ 0 932 Leveraging Microsoft RDS on Scale HC3 https://smbitjournal.com/2016/09/leveraging-microsoft-rds-on-scale-hc3/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/09/leveraging-microsoft-rds-on-scale-hc3/#respond Sun, 04 Sep 2016 17:51:51 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=917 Continue reading Leveraging Microsoft RDS on Scale HC3 ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/09/leveraging-microsoft-rds-on-scale-hc3/feed/ 0 917 Finding A Job, or Finding THE Job https://smbitjournal.com/2016/07/finding-a-job-or-finding-the-job/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/07/finding-a-job-or-finding-the-job/#respond Tue, 12 Jul 2016 04:12:52 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=960 Continue reading Finding A Job, or Finding THE Job ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/07/finding-a-job-or-finding-the-job/feed/ 0 960 Logical Volume Managers https://smbitjournal.com/2016/07/logical-volume-managers/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/07/logical-volume-managers/#respond Sun, 10 Jul 2016 14:32:12 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=962 Continue reading Logical Volume Managers ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/07/logical-volume-managers/feed/ 0 962 Drive Appearance https://smbitjournal.com/2016/06/what-is-drive-appearance/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/06/what-is-drive-appearance/#comments Mon, 20 Jun 2016 12:19:34 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=920 Continue reading Drive Appearance ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/06/what-is-drive-appearance/feed/ 1 920 Buyers and Sellers Agents in IT https://smbitjournal.com/2016/06/buyers-and-sellers-agents-in-it/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/06/buyers-and-sellers-agents-in-it/#respond Sat, 11 Jun 2016 15:30:09 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=903 Continue reading Buyers and Sellers Agents in IT ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/06/buyers-and-sellers-agents-in-it/feed/ 0 903 The Emperor’s New Storage https://smbitjournal.com/2016/06/the-emperors-new-storage/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/06/the-emperors-new-storage/#comments Wed, 08 Jun 2016 16:49:20 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=74 Continue reading The Emperor’s New Storage ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/06/the-emperors-new-storage/feed/ 2 74 Disaster Recovery Planning with Existing Platform Equipment https://smbitjournal.com/2016/06/disaster-recovery-planning-with-existing-platform-equipment/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/06/disaster-recovery-planning-with-existing-platform-equipment/#comments Fri, 03 Jun 2016 13:03:34 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=938 Continue reading Disaster Recovery Planning with Existing Platform Equipment ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/06/disaster-recovery-planning-with-existing-platform-equipment/feed/ 1 938 Understanding Bias https://smbitjournal.com/2016/05/understanding-bias/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/05/understanding-bias/#respond Wed, 25 May 2016 15:32:41 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=907 Continue reading Understanding Bias ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/05/understanding-bias/feed/ 0 907 Decision Point: VDI and Terminal Services https://smbitjournal.com/2016/05/decision-point-vdi-and-terminal-services/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/05/decision-point-vdi-and-terminal-services/#respond Mon, 16 May 2016 17:16:32 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=888 Continue reading Decision Point: VDI and Terminal Services ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/05/decision-point-vdi-and-terminal-services/feed/ 0 888 A Public Post Mortem of An Outage https://smbitjournal.com/2016/05/a-public-post-mortem-of-an-outage/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/05/a-public-post-mortem-of-an-outage/#comments Thu, 05 May 2016 01:40:39 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=792 Continue reading A Public Post Mortem of An Outage ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/05/a-public-post-mortem-of-an-outage/feed/ 3 792 The Physical Interaction Considerations of VDI https://smbitjournal.com/2016/04/the-physical-interaction-considerations-of-vdi/ https://smbitjournal.com/2016/04/the-physical-interaction-considerations-of-vdi/#respond Fri, 15 Apr 2016 15:13:09 +0000 http://www.smbitjournal.com/?p=886 Continue reading The Physical Interaction Considerations of VDI ]]> https://smbitjournal.com/2016/04/the-physical-interaction-considerations-of-vdi/feed/ 0 886